loving hard

i shouldn’t be allowed to love. and i shouldn’t be allowed to tell myself that because it hurts. it hurts deep.

but it’s because i love too hard

i get attached too fast and then I think think think

think about it too much

and i cry about you and i talk about you and the sound of your voice brings a smile to my lips and my heart rises and beats and skips and i can’t stop thinking about you no matter how hard i try

i would pay rent to live inside your head the way you live inside of mine

the thing about loving hard is that you fall down hard too

i worry about you i get sick over you i wish I didn’t notice everything about you but there’s a part of me that can’t help but notice things that don’t ask for attention and i curse under my breath because this happened last time and the time before that and there will never be a version of me that doesn’t love hard because

maybe that’s the way i wanna be loved

maybe I care too much because I want to be cared about

and it kills me because i know that most people only know how to love softly because they’re too afraid of what will happen when they fall

not me

i’ve already fallen

I couldn’t eat for three days because of a boy who broke my heart

how is that fair?

10 thoughts on “loving hard

  1. felt, you are not alone, this is so raw and real, and just a beautiful poem

    “i would pay rent to live inside your head the way you live inside of mine”
    “this happened last time and the time before that and there will never be a version of me that doesn’t love hard because
    maybe that’s the way i wanna be loved”

    i can sense the pain and frustration and fear and sadness. i’m sorry

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment